And then one day, she started a blog…

Last summer I read (and saw) “Eat, Pray, Love” and in the fall I read “The Happiness Project” and I thought it would be incredible to do my own project, so I started planning. When my best friend from childhood started her own blog I emailed her to congratulate her about it. We started emailing regularly to catch up on what we’ve been doing since we’ve last seen each other (it’s been about twelve years) and I told her about my happiness project and the possibility of starting a blog. She completely supported the project and agreed with me that blogging could help keep me more accountable to continue the project throughout the year, and so a blog was born.

For those of you who haven’t heard of a happiness project, let me explain. Each month of 2012 I will adopt a new set of resolutions. These may be things that I want to do, traits that I admire and want to possess, or really just anything that I think could make me a happier person. Now, that’s not to say that I’m unhappy now. I’m really just curious to see if I could be happIER, and it’s also my way of getting myself to try new things.

For January, my goals are all about increasing energy. Number one on the list is sleep when I need to sleep. I know this might sound a little silly, but too often I stay up to watch a show, or to finish just one more chapter, or to cram for a test even though I know that without enough sleep I just can’t function. Second on the list is make time to run. I’ve taken the last month or so off from running and I miss it like crazy. I started the month of right by running the resolution run, a 5K race, this morning. It was so great to be back running again, and I’m excited to get back into training.Number three is tackle a nagging task. Ususally if something needs to be done it gets done, but all those other little things that can be put off usually do get put off. This month I want to tackle some of those nagging tasks. The final resolution for January is to tidy up. I HATE when my room is a mess, and with school starting up again this week, keeping my room tidy is going to help with my studies. I can’t focus if there’s a mess, so I want to try and take that extra two seconds to put things where they belong. My biggest problem is probably leaving clothes all over the floor, and I was even given a laundry basket for Christmas. If that’s not a hint, I don’t know what is!

-Ash

This entry was posted in The Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And then one day, she started a blog…

  1. Megan says:

    This sounds very interesting, Ashley. I’m sure you will succeed with your resolutions. I think all of us would benefit from doing something like this.

Leave a Reply

