Resolution Update!

Resolution #1: Make Time to Run

With school starting up again last week, making time to run has, surprisingly, not been a problem. I have no labs this semester, which frees up a good 10+ hours each week that I didn’t have last term, and I’ve got most mornings off. With that in mind, my resolution has quickly turned from “make time to run” to “get your but out the door”. I find it so difficult to get out running in the mornings by myself. On Sundays I usually run with a group of friends, and I don’t think about it as getting up at 7:30 a.m. to run, but as getting up at 7:30 a.m. to drive to the club. Getting there is easy, and then when everyone else starts moving I just start going too. So, how to get myself going?

Step 1 was to outline a training schedule, so I got out my calendar and my handy running book by John Stanton and I came up with a plan. I’ve set up my training schedule so that I’ll be able to run a half-marathon by the end of May, although I’m probably going to go for a personal best in a 10K race rather than do the half. So far, my fastest 10K has been 56 minutes, and my goal is under 50 minutes.

Step 2 is to actually SIGN UP for the race, and hopefully that’ll really get me motivated to train. I’m also thinking about signing up for a 10K at the end of March. I think this will help me keep my training schedule on track so that in May I’m prepared not only to run the 10K, but to reach my time goal as well.

Resolution #2: Sleep When I Need to Sleep

I’ll admit, there have been a few nights in the past week that I’ve stayed up too late to read. My friend has got me reading “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins, and it’s one of those books that you really have to force yourself to put down. My strategy has been to read it on the bus rides to and from school, then leave the book in my backpack, out of sight. Not having the book staring me in the face at 10 p.m. has  made getting to bed at a decent hour a little bit easier.

I think the biggest thing that has helped me from staying up all night has been making good use of the DVR. George Stroumboulopoulos (and yes, I had to look up the spelling) is one of my favorite shows. The interviews are relatable and interesting, the recap of current events makes you interested enough to scour news websites to learn more, and to top it off, it’s funny. UNfortunately, it doesn’t start until 11 p.m. DVR to the rescue! And on a side note, one of my favorite french artists, Coeur de Pirate, will be performing on the show this Friday!

Her song “Comme des Enfants” is AMAZING!!

Resolution #3: Tidy Up

So far, so good for this one. It’s really amazing how much you can get done in a short period of time if you just stop procrastinating.  Today I knew that when I got home the bed would be made, my desk would be clear, and my laundry (except for the last load – running clothes – that was still drying when I left this morning) would be put away. Knowing that I didn’t have to clean up when I got home from class gave me bit of an energy buzz all day.

Resolution #4: Tackle a Nagging Task

First nagging task to conquer? Make a list of nagging tasks. It’s quite a long list, mostly of tasks that would only take a few minutes to do.

For example:

  • Get the jeans that I bought six months ago hemmed
  • Delete old photos from camera and phone
  • Get a box to put notes from last term in
  • Fix bathroom mirror so it doesn’t wobble

Bring on week number two!

This entry was posted in The Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

