The Simple Things

I don’t know about you, but I’m the kind of person who tends to always be thinking about where I’m going to the point where I forget where I am, and I fail to notice the small things. For example, some of the things that have crossed my mind today are:

  • What am I going to do for my photo project in March?
  • What book am I going to read once I finish the trilogy I’m currently only on book #2 of?
  • What should I write about for the paper we haven’t even been given an outline for yet?

Whether it’s something I’m looking forward to or something I’m stressing about, I spend so much time thinking about things that are so far away that I forget about right now. One of my commandments is to live in the present, to realize that good things, no matter how small, are happening NOW. I don’t have to wait for a great surge of happiness caused by some grand event. There will be no balloons, no cosmic alignment, no writing in the sky saying “Congratulations! You get to be happy now!” There are all sorts of little happy moments everyday, just staring me in the face.

I experienced one of these moments on Tuesday. I was waiting for my bus on the way to school and I realized that the snowflakes were sticking to my nose and eyelashes. I know it sounds totally dorky but there’s significance, I swear! I used to be in a choir and one of the songs we sang was “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music. Part of the song goes “Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes, snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes, silver white winters that melt into springs, these are a few of my favorite things”. The acknowledgement of the simple fact that snow was sticking to my face made that song pop into my head (you’ll learn that I can relate anything to music) and started a whole pinball game of thoughts inside my brain.

So what if I hadn’t let myself be in that moment? What if I had been stressing out about all the things on my to do list? I would have missed out on something that made me smile.

So savour the taste of that morning coffee instead of chugging it down as you run out the door. Realize that you are rising to a challenge instead of accepting defeat when you go for a  run on an ice cold morning. Be aware of simple pleasures like “raindrops on roses” and “warm woolen mittens”.

And on a side note, I’ve added a few new things to The Bucket List. They’re not really new, but just things that I hadn’t written down until now.

  1. Go to a Russell Peters Show
  2. Attend a taping of the George Stroumboulopoulos Show
  3. Travel across Canada
  4. Try being a vegetarian

-Ash

This entry was posted in The Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Simple Things

  1. Katherine says:

    5. Visit Newfoundland.

    Loved this post. I never pay attention to the simple things, or even things that make me smile. My mind is all-or-nothing. Either EVERYTHING is perfect, or my life is a disaster. It makes it hard to be happy when you refuse to let yourself be happy.

    Looking forward to your next post.

  2. Ashley says:

    I’ll add that right now. Hopefully it’ll be soon! So glad you liked this post because I was debating putting it up.

  3. Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?
    Welcome to my blog registered advisor.

Leave a Reply

