Vegetarian Update

I’ve been vegetarian for about twenty days now and it’s going really well. The one problem that I’ve had was yesterday, when my mom decided to make a turkey dinner. Now, I’ve never really enjoyed eating meat, but turkey is the exception. What makes it even worse is that there are leftovers in the fridge, staring me in the face every time I open the door. So to distract myself from the deliciousness that is tempting my taste buds I’m going to try some new vegetarian dishes.  I’ve only tried out a few simple recipes so far, like lentil and chickpea “burgers” (note that the lentil ones were WAY better) and a couscous vegetable loaf, but tomorrow I’ll be trying something a little more advanced, EGGPLANT PARMIGIANA!  Hopefully it’ll be as tasty as turkey. At least I still get to have dairy and eggs, because I don’t think I could resist mom’s homemade cheesecake.

 

One thing that I’ve really loved doing with veggies is juicing them. I started doing this before I decided to go vegetarian, but it’s definitely helped increase my vegetable intake as part of my resolution to eat the food my body deserves. This morning I made apple/carrot/celery juice, and while celery provides a lot of juicy because it’s so watery, I just can’t get past the taste, so I never use very much.

Some people might think it looks a little gross, but it’s actually really good. Especially once you’ve seen the smoothie I’ll make using the pulp leftover from juicing tomorrow with spirulina.

-Ash

This entry was posted in The Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

